top of page
  • andre46288

It is the end, but also a beginning

My wife and I made the decision to emigrate to the UK a long time ago. She moved over in September 2021 during lock down while I remained in South Africa to sell our house and complete all outstanding orders. That took another year to achieve, and in October 2022 I was finally able to join my wife in the UK.

So now I am no longer a South African knifemaker. Its the end of an era.


Will I continue making knives?... is the question on everyone's lips. Well, I have made arrangements to bring my equipment over and when I eventually set up shop again the plan is to resume my steel shaping adventures, but with some slight modifications:


Firstly - my business model is changing - I will no longer be taking orders for knives. I will instead build whatever I feel like building and make it available for sale on the website.

Secondly - I won't be making knives full time anymore either - it will once again become a part-time passion. So the volume of knives I build each month will be much lower.

Thirldy - the plan is to focus on higher end knives - exotic steels and handles, where I will have the luxury of being able to take my time with them. I will also be building more chef's knives and I want to start building straight razors.


So that's it.

Meanwhile my search for full time work as a graphic designer continues.

It may be some time before I am ble to set up a workshop again. My equipment will only arrive in 3 months and then there is still the issue of finding suitable space to set up. But I'm in no rush. I think taking a break from knifemaking will be good for me. I kinda lost my love of it towards the end. So perhaps a few months of no grinding will bring back the yearning to get dusty and dirty and once again bring blades to life.


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All New and Shiny!

I have to admit I've been putting off updating my website for quite some time. I'm a knifemaker dammit not a web designer. These days it seems you need to be able to do it all, unless you have the cas

bottom of page